Wake Electric held its 2019 Annual Meeting on Friday, March 22, 2019 at the Louisburg College Auditorium in Louisburg, NC.  More than 500 members attended the meeting. The meeting included:

  • the opportunity to hear business updates and a presentation from Scott Poole, Vice-President of Customer Service and Don Bowman, Vice-President of Engineering and Operations
  • recognition of our Lineman and the job that they do for our members
  • the chance to ask senior management questions about Wake Electric
  • special activities for school-aged children K-6th grade during the meeting
  • members in attendance were entered into a drawing for $5,000 in cash prizes. The prizes are: 1 first-place grand prize of $1,000, 2 second-place prizes of $500 each, 4 third-place prizes of $250 and 20 fourth-place prizes of $100 each. (See list of 2019 winners below)
  • members in attendance received a free gift from Wake Electric (one gift per household) and other freebies from our participating vendors

Cash Prize Winners:

4th place
Name  City  Prize 
Ramel M Williams Franklinton  $   100.00
Terry L Yarborough Franklinton  $   100.00
Cheryl Perry Rolesville  $   100.00
Erna McLeod Louisburg  $   100.00
John E Morgan Franklinton  $   100.00
George W Newsome, Jr. Knightdale  $   100.00
Dorothy E Williamson Zebulon  $   100.00
Leon R Floyd Kittrell  $   100.00
Deborah A Harvey Franklinton  $   100.00
Shelby J Jones Oxford  $   100.00
Bettie H Bailey Creedmoor  $   100.00
Charlie Tabourn Kittrell  $   100.00
Lucy Marshall Raleigh  $   100.00
Mamie L Howard Kittrell  $   100.00
Oliver O Adams Henderson  $   100.00
Roy Bailey Wake Forest  $   100.00
Elizabeth M Williams Wake Forest  $   100.00
Betty M Taylor Kittrell  $   100.00
Stephen Anthony Franklinton  $   100.00
Stacey & Ronald Brown Creedmoor  $   100.00
Free Salvation Holiness Church Louisburg  $   100.00 Organization
Hawkins Church Franklinton  $   100.00 Organization
Betty T. Wall Louisburg  $   100.00 Employee
3rd place
Martha M Mason Bullock  $   250.00
Steven M Dieckhaus Rolesville  $   250.00
John R Mills Wake Forest  $   250.00
Bobbie J Pennington Durham  $   250.00
2nd place
Mary K Tisdale Franklinton  $   500.00
Harriet Morton Oxford  $   500.00
1st place
Mary Easterling Wake Forest  $1,000.00

Pictured above: $1,000 Grand Prize Winner
Mary Easterling of Wake Forest and Board President Reuben Matthews

If you have questions about the annual meeting, please call 919.863.6300 or 1.800.474.6300 or email information@wemc.com.

Cooperative directors re-elected at the 2019 Annual Meeting for 3-year terms are: District 1, Allen Nelson, Stovall; District 4, Joe Hilburn, Raleigh; District 8, Joe Eddins, Zebulon

NOTE: Wake Electric has a policy that if we draw the registration card 1) of a church, business or civic organization, or 2) of an employee of Wake Electric who is also a member or 3) of a board of director of Wake Electric who is also a member, then we will grant that member a cash prize, but will draw again until a non-employee, residential account is drawn. When this occurs, more cash prizes are awarded than the number of cash prizes originally advertised.