Annual Meeting

Cooperatives are not-for-profit, democratic organizations controlled by their members. The members actively participate in setting policies and making decisions through election of member representatives who sit on the Wake Electric Board of Directors. Every March, we hold an Annual Meeting of members where we present about the cooperative’s business from the previous year and also gives members an opportunity to vote for their board directors. The board represents the membership by directing and working closely with the staff of the cooperative to guide the business decisions of the co-op.

2023 Annual Meeting

Wake Electric held its 2023 Annual Meeting of Members on Friday, March 22, 2023 at the Louisburg College Auditorium.  Members came together to hear business updates and a presentation from Jim Mangum, CEO and general manager and then had the chance to ask senior management questions about the co-op.

Members then voted to re-elect the board members to serve three-year terms on the Wake Electric Board of Directors; Suzy Morgan – District 3, Bob Hill – District 6 and Reuben Matthews – District 9. Members in attendance will be entered into a drawing for $5,000 in cash prizes. The prizes are: 1 first-place grand prize of $1,000, 2 second-place prizes of $500 each, 4 third-place prizes of $250 and 20 fourth-place prizes of $100 each, see below.

2023 Cash Prize Winners

Name City Prize
4th Place Winners
Kurt Ryerson Wake Forest  $   100.00
Geraldine Hartsford Louisburg  $   100.00
John Freeman Franklinton  $   100.00
Johnny Pender Franklinton  $   100.00
Barna Wilder Zebulon  $   100.00
Grover Hobbs Kittrel  $   100.00
Jerome Cox Wake Forest  $   100.00
Stanley Harris Wake Forest  $   100.00
Matilda Bullock Henderson  $   100.00
James Batten Middlesex  $   100.00
Roylene Wheeler Franklinton  $   100.00
Armenta Eaton Louisburg  $   100.00
Ashley Peyton Franklinton  $   100.00
Kristal Cozart Kittrel  $   100.00
Faye Kerrick Wake Forest  $   100.00
Iris Robinson Wake Forest  $   100.00
Amaury Santos Wake Forest  $   100.00
Carol Bender Youngsville  $   100.00
Cassandra Pettiford Oxford  $   100.00
Donnie Tart Kittrel  $   100.00
3rd Place Winners
Len Hopkins Middlesex  $   250.00
Sharon Rodgers Youngsville  $   250.00
Ernest Perry Franklinton  $   250.00
Kathy Wheeler Youngsville  $   250.00
2nd Place Winners
Richard Szulewski Wake Forest  $   500.00
Stuart Pattison Wake Forest  $   500.00
1st Place Winner
David Robinson Wake Forest  $1,000.00


Grand prize drawing winner David Robinson.

David B. Robinson from Wake Forest was our grand prize winner this year. He is pictured here with Wake EMC board members Allen Nelson (far left) and Board President Suzy Morgan (far right).

Date: Friday, March 24, 2023
Time: 5:30 p.m. – Registration | 7:00 p.m. – Business Meeting | 8:00 p.m. – Drawing for cash prizes
Location: Louisburg College Auditorium

Join us once again at Louisburg College Auditorium, also known as the Seby B. Jones Performing Arts Center. Members will consider and act on the following matters; reports of officers, directors and committees; election of three directors of the Cooperative and any other business that may come before the meeting or any adjournment or adjournments thereof. Only registered Wake Electric members attending the meeting are eligible to win cash prizes. Members in attendance will receive one $25 Wal-Mart gift card per household. There will be a total of $5,000 in cash awarded to some lucky members this year! Members in attendance will receive one $25 Wal-Mart gift card per household. If you cannot attend, the proxy card, attached to your March cover wrap must be given to a spouse, an adult/close living relative living in the same house, a Wake Electric member in his/her own right or an organization voting delegate.

Remember to bring your registration card (located at the bottom your March cover wrap) to the meeting! This card is used for registration and in the drawing for cash prizes.

Committee on Nominations
The Committee on Nominations and Resolutions met October 24, 2022, to select the nominees for the Board of Directors. Jeff Holt was elected chairperson of the committee. Other members of the committee were Elnora Morehead, Jackie Thompson, Sr., Kevin Murphy, K.J. Stark, Jr., Spencer Renfrow, Tom Parrish, Cynthia Colvin and Michael Wood. The committee nominated the following:

-District 3 – Suzanne Morgan, 3-year term
-District 6 – Bob Hill, 3- year term
-District 9 – Reuben Matthews, 3-year term

2022 Meeting Minutes

If you have questions about the annual meeting, please call 919.863.6300 or 1.800.474.6300 or email

NOTE: Wake Electric has a policy that if we draw the registration card 1) of a church, business or civic organization, or 2) of an employee of Wake Electric who is also a member or 3) of a board of director of Wake Electric who is also a member, then we will grant that member a cash prize, but will draw again until a non-employee, residential account is drawn. When this occurs, more cash prizes are awarded than the number of cash prizes originally advertised.