21 teachers in Franklin, Nash, Johnston, and Wake counties have been awarded the 2015 Bright Ideas grants.  The grants will be used for a variety of classroom programs throughout the school year. Grant winners are:

Tommy Kemp Franklinton High Franklinton, NC
Jessica Parker East Wake Academy Zebulon, NC
Sharon Winzeler Needham Broughton High Raleigh, NC
Lee C Sudia Rocky Mount High Rocky Mount, NC
Amy Hines River Dell Elementary Clayton, NC
Mark Hipps Apex Middle Apex, NC
Meg Osterhoff York Elementary Raleigh, NC
Melina Fernandez Brassfield Elementary Raleigh, NC
Cindy Williams Northern Nash High Rocky Mount, NC
Dennis Wayne Shore Fuller Elementary Raleigh, NC
Linda Watson Neuse Charter School Smithfield, NC
Carrie Jones Middle Creek High Apex, NC
Elizabeth Viverette Nashville Elementary Nashville, NC
Laura Muse Jeffreys Grove Elementary Raleigh, NC
Laurel Currie Nash-Rocky Mount Early College High Rocky Mount, NC
Althea Hrbek Lockhart Elementary Knightdale, NC
Joy Simpson Williford Elementary Rocky Mount, NC
Cynthia Linton Stough Elementary Raleigh, NC
Ellen Ennis-Smith Smithfield-Selma High Smithfield, NC
Joshua H Page Smithfield Middle Smithfield, NC
Elizabeth Godwin Coopers Elementary Elm City, NC


The funds for the Bright Ideas grants come from WEMC members who agree to round up their light bill to the nearest whole dollar through the Operation RoundUp program. For example, if the bill is $190.91 – the bill will be rounded up 9 cents to $191.00. These pennies add up to major dollars. Partial funding also comes from the North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation, located in Raleigh, NC. The NCEMC consists of a family of corporations formed to support the state’s 27 electric cooperatives.

Wake Electric is a non-profit electric utility serving over 40,000 members in parts of Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Nash, Vance, and Wake counties.