Wake Forest, NC— Wake Electric recently awarded 40 $25 Visa gift cards to area students who received at least one “A” (or its equivalent) on their report cards through the co-op’s “Give Us an A” program. This program encourages academic achievement and Wake Electric encourages the winners to purchase a savings bond through www.treasurydirect.gov with their Visa gift card money. These awards are part of a drawing held three times a year.

Students in any grade in Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Nash, Vance and Wake counties are eligible to apply.

Funding for the “Give Us an A” program is made possible by Wake Electric members through the Operation RoundUp program. Members who sign up to participate in the Operation RoundUp program elect to have their monthly electric bill rounded up to the next whole dollar. These pennies collectively add up to major dollars for community programs.

The most recent “Give Us an A” winners include:

Joshua Blalock, Franklin Academy
Savannah Blalock, Franklin Academy
Justin Bullock, G.C. Hawley Middle School
Emily Deem, Heritage Middle School
Amanda Eddins, North Raleigh Christian Academy
Mikell Eddins, North Raleigh Christian Academy
Dante Evangelista, Franklin Academy
Devin Fussa, Heritage Middle School
Carolina Genest, Heritage Middle School
Kyndal Gunter, Franklin Academy
Benjamin Henry, Cedar Creek Middle
Aimee Heroux, Franklin Academy
Alec Heroux, Franklin Academy
Ashlynn Heroux, Franklin Academy
Tommy Hicks, Granville Early College High
Cameron Hill, Franklinton High
Devin Hoffman, Franklinton High School
Matthew Hoffman, Cedar Creek Middle
Taryn Hoffman, Franklinton High School
Edward Isabella, Franklinton High School
Louis Isabella, III, Franklinton High School
Alexa Lamont, Louisburg High School
Caitlin Magaha, Wake Forest-Rolesville High School
Madison Magaha, Jones Dairy Elementary
Shane Majercik, Gorman Christian Academy
Bailey Metcalf, Leesville Road High School
Mallory Mormann, Franklin Academy
Amy Nguyen, North Ridge Elementary School
Ian Joseph Peck, Franklin Academy
Jake Pickens, Heritage Middle School
Wyatt Pickens, Heritage Middle School
Alyssa Roland, Franklin Academy
Emily Roland, Franklin Academy
Michael Roland, Forest Pines Elementary
Ashley Sajecki, Wake Forest-Rolesville High School
Tyler Sales, Heritage High School
Kelsey Selna, Wake Young Men’s Leader Academy
Krista Elaine Smith, North Raleigh Christian Academy
Melissa Stone, East Cary Middle School
Aliza Williams, Franklin Academy

The deadline for the next drawing is May 20 by 5 p.m. Because each school district may have a different time for issuing report cards, if a student’s entry misses one deadline, the entry will automatically be included in the next drawing.

To enter, students should include:
– A copy of the report card with any “A”s highlighted
– Parents’ or guardians’ names (if applicable)
– Home address
– Email address that is checked regularly
– School attending
– Telephone Number

For more information on Wake Electric’s “Give Us an A” program, go towww.wemc.com/giveusana.aspx.


Back to News