For 2017 Wake Electric awarded 17 college scholarships equaling a total of $22,000.

The Fred M. Alford Memorial Scholarship ($2,000) was awarded to:  Abigail Nacional, Heritage High

The Touchstone Energy Scholarship ($1,250) winners are:

  1. Jonasha Green, NC Agricultural & Technical State University
  2. Bethany Ray, Wilson Early College Academy
  3. Chad Kibbe, NC State University
  4. Carly Graves, Franklin Academy
  5. Natacha Bomparte, Franklinton High
  6. Kaleigh Thibodeau, North Raleigh Christian Academy
  7. Emma Vukovich, NC State University
  8. Allison Schulz, Franklin Academy
  9. Michah Council, Enloe High
  10. Hannah Russell, Wake Forest High
  11. Sabrina Zirkle, North Raleigh Christian Academy
  12. Ellen Darrow, Wakefield High
  13. Jacob Faulkner, NC State University
  14. Meredith Lee, Needham B Broughton High
  15. Sarah Woodard, NC State University
  16. Molly Moseley, Franklin Academy

    Funding for scholarships is made possible by Wake Electric members and Wake Electric employees through the Operation Round-Up Program.  For more information on Operation RoundUp or the scholarship program, visit