Eight teachers in Durham, Franklin, Johnston and Wake counties were awarded a 2015 Classroom Technology grant. The total amount of grant monies awarded is $19,154.00

This year’s winners are:

Esta Lampkin        Zebulon Gifted & Talented Magnet Middle, Zebulon, NC

Tommy Kemp        Franklinton High, Franklinton, NC

Linda Watson         Neuse Charter School, Smithfield, NC

Melina Fernandez   Brassfield Road Elementary, Raleigh, NC

Christina Wilson      East Wake Academy, Zebulon, NC

Andrea Jones          Wilson’s Mills Elementary, Wilson’s Mills, NC

Amy Hodge              Rolesville High, Rolesville, NC

Selena Oliver            Southern School of Energy & Sustainability, Durham, NC

The funds for the Classroom Technology grants come from WEMC members who agree to round up their light bill to the nearest whole dollar through the Operation RoundUp program. For example, if the bill is $190.91 – the bill will be rounded up 9 cents to $191.00. These pennies add up to major dollars.

Wake Electric is a non-profit electric utility serving over 40,000 members in parts of Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Nash, Vance, and Wake counties.