Wake Forest, NC— Wake Electric recently awarded 40 $25 Visa gift cards to area students who received at least one “A” (or its equivalent) on their report cards through the co-op’s “Give Us an A” program.

Due to recent changes by the United States Treasury in how savings bonds are purchased, Wake Electric began giving the $25 gift cards instead of savings bonds so students can purchase a $50 savings bond through www.treasurydirect.gov with their gift cards. These awards are part of a drawing held three times a year.

Students in any grade in Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Nash, Vance and Wake counties are eligible to apply.
Funding for the “Give Us an A” program is made possible by Wake Electric members through the Operation RoundUp program. Members who sign up to participate in the Operation RoundUp program elect to have their monthly electric bill rounded up to the next whole dollar. These pennies collectively add up to major dollars for community programs.

The most recent “Give Us an A” winners include:

Adam Baker, Wakefield High School
Emily P. Berrier, North Raleigh Christian Academy
Timothy Cannizzaro, Wakefield Middle School
Caleigh Crane, Wake Forest-Rolesville High School
Shivani Desai, Heritage High School
Katherine Dougherty, South Granville High School of Health and Life Sciences
Olivia Dougherty, GC Hawley Middle School
Violet Evans, Atlas International School
Kassidy Grissom, Franklinton Elementary School
Kyndal M. Gunter, Franklin Academy
Ramsey M. Gunter, Franklin Academy
Isabelle Henry, Youngsville Elementary School
Cameron Hill, Cedar Creek Middle School
Devin Hoffman, Franklinton High School
Matthew Hoffman, Cedar Creek Middle School
Taryn Hoffman, Franklinton High School
Louis Isabella III, Franklinton High School
Daniel Lee, Southeast Raleigh Magnet School
Rebecca Martin, Franklin Academy
Jacqueline Ann Minella, Wake Forest-Rolesville High School
Anna Moss, Franklinton High School
Noah Neal Butner, Stem Middle School
Rebecca Neal, Granville Central High School
Ebadirad Nickolas, North Forest Pines Drive Elementary School
William Oakes, Franklinton High School
Megan Orander, Heritage Middle School
Madison Perry, Sanford Creek Elementary School
Taylor Robinson, Long Mill Elementary School
Michael Roland, Forest Pines Elementary School
Phoebe Rutter, Tar River Elementary School
Addison Selna, Heritage Elementary School
Elijah Sharpe, Royal Elementary School
Nolan B. Schulz, Franklin Academy
Hannah Stutts, Franklinton High School
James Vick, Bunn High School
Austin Walters, Wake Forest-Rolesville High School
Sarah Watts, Heritage Middle School
Ryan Wimmer, Jones Dairy Elementary School
Kaitlyn Woollen, Millbrook High School
Fennell Xavier, Carnage Magnet Middle School

The deadline for the next drawing is September 20, 2012 by 5:00 p.m. Because each school district may have a different time for issuing report cards, if a student’s entry misses one deadline, the entry will automatically be included in the next drawing.

To enter, students should include:
– A copy of the report card with any “A”s highlighted
– Parents’ or guardians’ names (if applicable)
– Home address
– Email address that is checked regularly
– School attending
– Telephone Number

For more information on Wake Electric’s “Give Us an A” program, go towww.wemc.com/giveusana.aspx.

Wake Electric is a non-profit electric utility serving over 35,500 members in parts of Franklin, Durham, Granville, Johnston, Vance, Nash, and Wake counties. For more information on Wake Electric, please visit www.wemc.com.

Back to News