Webb Technology Scholarship


Apply for an opportunity to receive a $1,500 scholarship!

Who is James E. Webb?
In 2021, NASA will replace the Hubble Space Telescope with a new space telescope named after former Granville Country resident and early NASA visionary James E. Webb. Under Webb’s leadership as administrator of NASA, the organization reached new heights in space exploration which served as a catalyst for strengthening the nation’s universities and aerospace industry. (Source: NASA)

Scholarship Background: Electric, battery-powered vehicles have been used in space exploration for decades and Wake Electric hopes that Electric Vehicles (EVs) will become a bigger part of the driving picture here on Earth. As a leader in advanced technologies, Wake Electric established the Webb Technology Scholarship to honor Webb’s legacy of STEM education and space exploration through NASA’s space program which paved the way for creation of new technologies, including electric vehicles. Wake Electric will choose two high school students to receive a $1,500 scholarship based on their application.

To Apply: Students must choose one of two essay topics and complete an essay. The final day to submit an essay is April 30, 2022. If you have any questions regarding the scholarship, please contact Rachel Roberson at rroberson@currinenergy.com.

2022 Webb Technology Scholarship Winners

In honor of Webb’s local legacy, Wake Electric chose three local high school students to receive scholarships based on their essay and application. We were able to award a runner-up this year thanks to a $500 donation from Advanced Energy NC. The following students were chosen to receive this honor:

  • Maddison Schooley, rising senior from Neuse Christian Academy – $1,500
  • Benjamin Dishman, rising sophomore from Franklin Academy – $1,500
  • Sarah Frazier, rising senior from Neuse Christian Academy – $500
webb tech scholarship winners
Scholarship winners Maddison and Benjamin attended Wake Electric’s solar and electric vehicle event this past June and were awarded their scholarships by various Wake Electric board members and Advanced Energy NC.